Closed Meeting Investigator

The Ontario Municipal Act allows for any person to request that an investigation be undertaken respecting whether a municipality, local board, or a committee of either, has complied with the closed meeting rules contained within section 239 of the Act.

LAS has offered this service to Ontario municipalities since 2008. To deliver the required investigation services, LAS has contracted a third party, Aird Berlis. It maintains a roster of experienced and trained individuals located across Ontario to provide required investigative services at the most reasonable cost.

Program Process

  • An individual files a written request for investigation with the Clerk of the municipality
  • The municipality sends the request and background documentation to the Investigator (Aird Berlis)
  • Initial review by Investigator will result in decision to proceed, or not proceed – with a reason, or withdrawal of request
  • If decision is to proceed, investigation is completed
  • Draft report filed and peer-reviewed by Investigator
  • Final report prepared and submitted to Council or Local Board
  • Report is made public by the municipality

Program Fee

Annual retainer fee of $200 per year. This fee covers the administrative overhead of the program, as well as the cost related to program education/information materials.

Investigation fees range from $325 to $775 per hour. Because of the education and information materials provided to LAS Program members, many will never encounter a closed meeting investigation.


Closed Meeting Investigator FAQ

The LAS program provided the Town with access to a credible, independent, and professional investigation process that helps us ensure that we are operating in the most transparent fashion.
Debi Wilcox, Former Clerk, Town of Whitby


For further information, please contact Eleonore Schneider, LAS Program Manager,  416.971.9856 x320.


Participating Municipalities

Township of Addington Highland
Township of Amaranth
Township of Asphodel-Norwood
Township of Athens
Town of Bancroft
City of Barrie
Township of Beckwith
Township of Billings
Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
City of Brampton
County of Brant
City of Brantford
Township of Brock
County of Bruce
City of Burlington
Town of Caledon
City of Cambridge
Township of Carlow/Mayo
Municipality of Centre Hastings
Municipality of Clarington
Town of Deseronto
Township of Drummond/North Elm
Regional Municipality of Durham
Municipality of Dysart et Al
Municipality of East Ferris
Township of East Garafraxa
Township of Elizabethtown-Kitl
Township of Essa
County of Essex
Separated Town of Gananoque
Town of Grand Valley
Township of Greater Madawaska
Municipality of Greenstone
County of Grey
City of Guelph
County of Haldimand
Region of Halton
Municipality of Hastings Highlands
County of Hastings
Municipality of Highlands East
Municipality of Huron Shores
Town of Innisfil
Town of Kearney
City of Kingston
County of Lanark
Township of Limerick
Township of Madoc
City of Markham
Township of Marmora & Lake
Village of Merrickville-Wolfor
Town of Milton
City of Mississauga
Municipality of Mississippi Mills
Town of Mono
Township of Muskoka Lakes
Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake
Township of North Algona Wilbe
Districk of North Bay Parry Sound
City of North Bay
Township of North Dundas
Township of North Glengarry
Municipality of North Grenville
Township of North Kawartha
Municipality of North Middlesex
Township of North Stormont
Town of Oakville
Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan
Town of Parry Sound
Region of Peel 
Town of Perth
Town of Petawawa
City of Peterborough
Village of Point Edward
Municipality of Port Hope
County of Prince Edward
City of Quinte West
County of Renfrew
Township of Rideau Lakes
Township of Selwyn
Township of Severn
Town of Shelburne
County of Simcoe
Town of Smith Falls
Municipality of South Dundas
Township of South Glengarry
Township of South Stormont
Town of St. Marys
Township of Stirling-Rawdon
United Counties of Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry
City of Stratford
Village of Sundridge
Township of Tay Valley
Township of Terrace Bay
Township of Tudor & Cashel 
Municipality of Tweed
Township of Tyendinaga
Township of Uxbridge
City of Vaughan
Township of Wainfleet
Toronto Waterfront
City of Waterloo
Region of Waterloo
Township of Wellesley
Municipality of West Grey
Town of Whitby
Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville
Township of Wilmot
City of Windsor