LAS committees serve in an advisory capacity and meet approximately 2-3 times per year.

Energy Advisory Committee

LAS receives period information and advice from the Energy Advisory Committee.  The committee strives to meet at least annually.

Representation on the committee consists of individuals from a variety of municipalities participating in one or more of LAS’ programs, along with the professional program advisors, and LAS staff. Committee representation reflects both large and small municipalities and includes a broad cross-section of the various skill sets within the municipal environment.

Mandate and Terms

The objectives of the committee are to:

  • Advise on LAS program direction and policy changes.
  • Monitor the performance of the programs.
  • Assist in identifying/monitoring significant changes in the energy markets, and their implications.
  • Ensure program accountability, including the determination of the most appropriate analytical tools and reports.
  • Help LAS assess the merits of new energy program/service offerings
  • Advise on the marketing and promotion of the LAS programs

Committee Members

  • Todd Boyd, Strategic Energy Initiatives Coordinator, Region of York
  • Tom Chessman, Manager of Energy Initiatives, City of Hamilton
  • Judy Dezell, Director, LAS
  • Melanie Kawalec, Sustainability Manager, City of Peterborough
  • Mac MacGillivray, Property and Energy Manager, City of Peterborough
  • Dan Munshaw, Manager, Materials Management, City of Thunder Bay
  • Jorg Petersen, Manager of Building and Property, City of Kawartha Lakes
  • Jose Rocha, Corporate Energy Analyst, Region of Waterloo
  • Lynn Telford, Capital Asset Management, City of Orillia
  • Tom Vali, Program Coordinator Corporate Energy Services, Region of York
  • Chris Wilson, Financial Analyst, Budgets and Performance Measurement, Region of Waterloo
  • Kathy Wyatt, Manager Purchasing and Risk Management, Town of Oakville

Municipal Group Buying Committee

Municipal Group Buying Committee: comprised of investment sector and legal representatives, as well as senior staff from MFOA/CHUMS and LAS.

The Investment Advisory Committee is responsible for helping LAS and CHUMS (as agents of The One Investment Program) maintain an understanding of legal and regulatory requirements and constraints applicable to the One Investment Program, the various portfolios, and keeping LAS and CHUMS apprised of their opinions in this regard.
The committee will also review and provide commentary about investment manager performance, the existing statements of investment policies, and aid LAS and CHUMS in the selection, engagement or dismissal of professional investment managers.

Committee Members

  • Heather Douglas (Chair)
  • James C.L. Clark
  • Jennifer Dowty
  • James G. Giles
  • Geri James
  • Christine Tessier


  • Judy Dezell, LAS Director
  • Donna Herridge, CHUMS/MFOA

Peer Advisory Committee

The Peer Advisory Committee is comprised of municipal investment professionals and serves in an advisory capacity LAS and CHUMS (as agents of the One Investment Program) seek to achieve a balance of skill sets on this committee.

Mandate and Terms

The committee’s primary purpose is to review program direction and policy changes related to the program, and to offer commentary related to program operation, portfolio performance, and administration.
The committee will ensure program accountability and will assist LAS and CHUMS in marketing and promoting the program to Ontario municipalities and the broader Ontario public sector.

Committee Members

  • Michael Coffey, Tbaytel (a municipal service board of the City of Thunder Bay)
  • Ed Hankins, Region of York
  • Erika Kromm, Municipality of Neebing
  • Rob Maisonville, County of Essex
  • Mark Martin, City of Ottawa
  • Michael McGovern, Township of Central Frontenac
  • Steve Rettie, Town of Bracebridge
  • Ed Stankiewicz, City of Greater Sudbury


  • Judy Dezell, LAS Director
  • Donna Herridge, CHUMS/MFOA